Pieter Dirksen

Harpsichordist - Musicologist - Organist

Books & Editions
Papers & Lectures
Online Essays
Thematic Overview
of Publications
Concert Reviews

VI SUITTES, divers airs avec leurs variations et fugues pour le clavessin
(Amsterdam, 1710)

VI SUITTES, divers airs avec leurs variations et fugues pour le clavessin Edited by Pieter Dirksen

Utrecht: Koninklijke Vereniging voor Nederlandse Muziekgeschiedenis, 2004 (Muziek uit de Republiek 2)

99 pages

A critical edition of a publication made by the famous Amsterdam publisher Estienne Roger of twelve keyboard works: six suites, three variations sets and three fugues. He printed them without any composer’s names, but in an article of 1987 Harry Joelson-Strohbach identified half of its content through concordances as music by Georg Böhm, Johann Adam Reincken and Johann Pachelbel. In an extensive preface, the authorship question of the remaining anonymous pieces (notably five substantial suites) is discussed, which in addition to the composers mentioned above includes such figures as Dieterich Buxtehude, Christian Ritter and Johann Mattheson – in all a fascinating panorama of North German keyboard art! Closely connected with this is the provenance of Estienne Roger’s rather mysterious Druckvorlage. The content and its concordances shows that it has firm ties to both Hamburg and the Thuringian Bach-circle. Roger’s edition is not as trustworthy as it appears on first sight, and a thorough restoration of the note text was imperative.

For a further discussion of the previously unknown Buxtehude suite, click here

Inhoud / Contents

Inleiding (De VI Suittes – Identificeringen en Toeschrijvingen – Instrument en Ornamentiek – Literature – Editietechniek – De bron)
Introduction (The VI Suittes – Identifications and attributions – Instrument and ornamentation – Editorial policy – The source)
Critical commentary

Suitte I, in A minor [Jan Adam Reincken?]: Allemande, Courante, Sarabande, Gigue
Suitte II, in D minor (Dieterich Buxtehude [?]): Allemande, Courante, Sarabande, Gigue
Suitte III, in F major [Georg Böhm?]: Allemande, Courante, Sarabande & Double, Gigue
Suitte IV, in C minor [Christian Ritter?]: [Allemande], Courante, Sarabande,Gigue
Suitte V, in E-flat major [Georg Böhm?]: Prelude, Allemande, Courante, Air & Variation, Sarabande & Variation, Bourée, Menuet, Gigue
Suitte VI, in F minor (Georg Böhm): Allemande, Courante, Sarabande, Passacaille

Air avec diverses variations (Georg Böhm: Jesu, du bist allzu schöne)
Air avec variation (Jan Adam Reincken: Holländische Nachtigahl)
Air avec diverses variations (Jan Adam Reincken: Die Meyerin)

Fuga, in D minor (Johann Pachelbel)
Fuga, in F minor (Johann Pachelbel)
Fuga, in F major (Johann Pachelbel)

From the Reviews:

[...] voortreffelijke uitgave [...] zeer informatieve inleiding.
[De Orgelkrant 10/5, Mei 2005]

Order at: KVNM (€ 45,-)